Actor

Training

Introduction

Nine Years Theatre believes in the learning of new knowledge and the importance of long-term, regular and systematic training for actors. We therefore organize training sessions that are divided into Regular Training and Classes as follows:

Regular Training
- Suzuki Method of Actor Training and Viewpoints.

Classes
- Suzuki Method of Actor Training, Viewpoints, speech class, theatre knowledge, etc.


What Is The Difference Between Training And Classes?

Nine Years Theatre differentiates the two notions as follows: Classes are designed for the acquisition of knowledge and skills within a designated, intensive time span. Training, on the other hand, refers to the regular, long-term practice, study and development of these knowledge and skills.


Why Do We Train?

A good actor exudes strength and depth on stage, and is creative in rehearsal and performance. However, while most actors are able to harness these qualities at the surface level after years of performance experience, the highest level of these qualities lie as dormant potential in the inner core of an actor's body. It is through regular and long-term, systematic training that these deep qualities may be unleashed and enhanced.

Moreover, as an innate behaviour, the human mind and body are prescribed by our survival instinct and protection mechanism to perform the minimum. Persistent training helps the actor acquire the will to always excel beyond his/her perceivable ability.


Why Do We Adopt The Suzuki Method As Our Regular Training?

The Suzuki Method of Actor Training is a training system created by Japanese director Tadashi Suzuki. It focuses on enhancing the three important aspects of the actors' art: energy production, breath calibration, and centre of gravity. Taken together, these three aspects work towards the cultivation of the “invisible body”, the uncovering of the actor's inner potential and the development of a creative actor. The Suzuki Method is adopted as our Regular Training because

a. It is systematic and adaptable, creative and disciplined at the same time. Its essence of structured freedom is closely related to real-life performance situation, making the method most suited for long-term, regular practice.

b. Although it uses a series of formal physical exercises (known as disciplines) in its practice, these exercises are means to uncover the inner creative potential of the actor. In other words, these exercises are essentially components of a “method” rather than rigid aesthetics, making the Suzuki Method a system of training that transcends gender, age and culture.


Why Do We Adopt Viewpoints  As Our Regular Training?

Viewpoints can be understood as
·   A philosophy translated into a technique for 1) training performers; 2) building ensemble; and 3) creating movement for the stage.
·   A set of names given to certain principles of movement through time and space; these names constitute a language for talking about what happens onstage.
·   Points of awareness that a performer or creator makes use of while working.
-- Anne Bogart and Tina Landau, The Viewpoints Book


Viewpoints is about having a meaningful relationship with Time and Space. It is about the awareness of being, of events that are already existing, and of events that are emerging. It is a way of working with others, of building ensemble, and of establishing a common language. It is a practice in seeing things with new perspectives.

-- Nelson Chia


Viewpoints is adopted as our regular training because

a. It trains actors to work together as a group by providing a common language in performance.

b. It heightens the actors’ awareness of their bodies in space and time, and their relationships with other bodies and structures on stage during creation and performance.

Click here to go to SMAT and Viewpoints Jam
-- A project under Nine Years Theatre Actor Training Platform






© Nine Years Theatre

请点击此处前往 「铃木与观点训练站」
--九年剧场演员训练平台 计划之一
演员

训练

介绍

九年剧场致力于演员训练,因为我们坚信不断学习新知识以及进行长期性、定期性、且有系统的训练的重要性。我们的训练活动将分为两类:

定期训练:
- 「铃木演员训练法」, 「观点」训练。

课程:
- 「铃木演员训练法」、「观点」训练、台词课程、剧场知识、等等。


何为“训练”与“课程”的分别?

九年剧场对此两者的定义为:在指定期间集中进行的知识与技能学习,我们称之为“课程”。“训练”指的则是长期和定期性质下,针对知识与技能所进行的反复练习、发展及研究。


为什么要进行“训练”?

一个好演员必须能在舞台上体现力量与深度,并在排练和演出中展现创造力。虽然多数演员在经历多年的舞台磨练后一般上皆能拥有这些特质,但实际上这些特质的最高层次却是以潜能形式长存于演员身体的核心部分。因此,唯有通过定期性、长期性且有系统的训练,方能加强这些特质并使之得到完整的释放。

再者,在生存本能和保护机制的主导下,我们人类的意识与身体在本质上是倾向简约行为的。而持续的训练将能帮助演员培养超越表面能力极限的意志力。


为何以「铃木演员训练法」作为定期训练的主要内容?

由日本导演铃木忠志所创立的「铃木演员训练法」重点在于训练演员特质的三方面:能量应用、气息调节、和重心控制。这三方面的发展旨在开发演员的“隐形身体”、提炼演员的创意潜能,和培育富有创作能量的演员。九年剧场以「铃木演员训练法」为定期训练内容的原因如下。

a. 这套训练首先建立在系统化的方法上,但又同时具有可变化的适应性,并集合了创意和纪律于一体。这种在结构中蕴育自由的理念非常接近现实里的表演状态。因此,这套方法非常适合用于定期性和长期性的演员训练。

b. 虽然这套训练是以各种肢体练习程式来进行,但这些练习的本质是以“方法”来到达激发演员内在潜能的目的。 也就是说,肢体的练习是为途径,而非严格的美学技艺。因此,这套训练的应用不局限于演员的性别、年龄、能力等等元素。


为何以「观点」训练作为定期训练的主要内容?

「观点」训练可以被理解为
·   一个舞台表演哲理,转化为方法后适用于1)训练表演者;2)建立表演群体;3)创造舞台上的身体行动。
·   一系列的名称,用以描绘舞台上横越时间与空间的行动,并为解析舞台上各种景象提供一个共通的语汇。
·   表演者或创作者在工作时应用的意识点。
-- Anne Bogart and Tina Landau, The Viewpoints Book

“观点”的训练在于探讨个人与时间和空间的关系。它能够培养我们对于人在空间里的存在感知,以及对空间里已经发生或正在发生的事件的意识感。它是一种和伙伴们工作的方式,一种建立演员组合与共同语汇的方式,更是一种培养新视角的练习。

-- 谢燊杰


九年剧场以「观点」训练为定期训练内容的原因如下。
 
a. 「观点」提供了一个共通的表演语汇,以有效的训练演员在表演中的合作。
b. 「观点」训练可以提升演员在创作和表演中对于自身身体和时空的敏感度,以及了解自身身体和其他在舞台上的身体与物体之间的关系。





© 九年剧场