Nine Years Theatre Ltd. is a non-profit organisation with IPC status. 

UEN No.: 201221584C
Incorporation date: 31 August 2012

Board of Directors

  • Albert Chan
  • Mia Chee
  • Nelson Chia
  • Johnny Ng
  • Linda Tan
  • Audrey Wong


About Nine Years Theatre


Nine Years Theatre is a Singapore Mandarin theatre company co-founded by Nelson Chia and Mia Chee. The company focuses on the re-imagination of classic work and the creation of new work. Our Mandarin productions (with English surtitles) have attracted audiences from all backgrounds with their consistency in quality and a cultural sensibility in translation and adaptation.

We believe in actor training, our works are therefore often being described as grounded in the actors' art. We are the only company in Singapore that works with an ensemble of actors that train regularly on a long-term basis via systematic methods. Furthermore, we also share these training methods and philosophy with the community through classes and open training platforms.

In order to engage our audiences beyond the productions, the company continues to explore various ways of holding dialogue sessions with them. Our efforts are rooted in the belief that audiences should not merely consume art, but be offered an opportunity to discuss art.
Nelson Chia
Artistic Director & Co-Founder
A graduate of Goldsmiths College, London (MA in Directing) and the National University of Singapore (BA Theatre Studies), Nelson has headed the Department of Theatre at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, and also lectured at Lasalle College of the Arts and the Theatre Studies Programme at the National University of Singapore. He was the Associate Artistic Director of Toy Factory Productions (2003 - 2013), a Resident Artist with The Theatre Practice (2000 - 2002), an Associate Artist with The Substation (2007 - 2009), and a founding member of the ensemble collective A GROUP OF PEOPLE (2008 - 2012).

As a director, he has directed 26 major productions and is known for his translation, adaptation and direction of old and contemporary classics in Mandarin. He was the first local artist to be commissioned for a consecutive three years by the Esplanade to present works at the Huayi Chinese Festival of Arts, at which he won Best Director for two consecutive years at the Straits Times' Life! Theatre Awards for Twelve Angry Men (Nine Years Theatre, 2013) and Art (Nine Years Theatre, 2014). His other works include Oleanna, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, An Enemy of the People, Tartuffe, The Lower Depths, Red Demon and Red Sky, to name a few.

In 2012, Nelson co-founded Nine Years Theatre (NYT) with his wife Mia Chee. Within a few years, NYT has grown to become one of the key players in the scene. Through his work as artistic director, he has not only managed to revive the interest in production of classics within the Mandarin theatre audiences, but has also raised the awareness of training among the acting community. Since 2008, he has been training regularly in the Suzuki Method of Actor Training and Viewpoints. He studied both methods with SITI Company in New York, and trained in the Suzuki Method and performed in the Toga Festival with the Suzuki Company of Toga (SCOT) in Japan. He was later invited by SCOT to collaborate as a member of its international wing but declined the opportunity in order to invest his energy in NYT and the research of actor training.

In 2013, he created the NYT Ensemble (NYTE) with an aim to establish a company of ensemble actors who train regularly in a systematic way, and create work together over an extended period of time. To date, the NYT Ensemble is the only actor ensemble of this nature in Singapore.
Mia Chee
Company Director & Co-Founder

Mia is an actor, a producer, and a theatre educator.  She is the co-founder and Company Director of Nine Years Theatre, and is also a founding and core member of the Nine Years Theatre Ensemble.  

She started training in performance at the age of 9 when she joined Rediffusion's children radio drama group. Since then, she had been participating in various performances, and eventually graduated with a B.A. in Theatre Studies and Chinese Language from the National 
University of Singapore. In addition to that, Mia was in the 2nd batch of students training under the former Theatre Training and Research Programme (now known as Intercultural Theatre Institute) and studied close to 2 years, before becoming a proud mother to her twin daughters. She also trained with SITI Company (New York) and Suzuki Company of Toga (Japan).

As an actor, she has worked with various theatre companies such as Toy Factory Productions Ltd, Drama Box, The Theatre Practice, Paper Monkey Theatre, The Necessary Stage and TheatreWorks. Recent works include Red Sky (2016), Red Demon (2016), The Lower Depths (2015), Tartuffe (2015), An Enemy of the People (2014), The Bride Always Knocks Twice (2013) and Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Macau Arts Festival 2013).

As an educator, she has taught at various Primary, Secondary and Pre-U schools, and also taught at the National University of Singapore's Theatre Studies Programme. She is the instructor for NYT's Diction of Standard Mandarin class, and leads the NYT Ensemble in vocal and speech training.

As a producer, she has produced Fundamentally Happy (2017), Red Sky (2016), Red Demon (2016), The Lower Depths (2015), Tartuffe (2015), ART (Esplanade Huayi Festival commission 2014), An Enemy Of The People (M1 Singapore Fringe Festival commission 2014), Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf? (Macau Arts Festival 2013), and Twelve Angry Men (Esplanade Huayi Festival commission 2013).

Mia had also been moonlighting as a part-time DJ at Y.E.S. 933 FM from 1997 to 2013.






© Nine Years Theatre
Nelson is an actor, director and theatre educator.

For more than two decades, he has been seen on the Singapore stage, taking on numerous major and leading roles in English and Mandarin productions. He is a two-time winner in the Best Actor category in The Straits Times' Life! Theatre Awards for his performance in a 100-minute, one-man show White Soliloquy (Toy Factory Productions, 2010) and A Language Of Their Own (Singapore Arts Festival 2012).
Our Vision

To be a significant theatre company that engages the audiences and artistic community by continuously redefining the ways artists and audiences make and appreciate theatre.


Our Mission

To create high quality stage productions that inspire, engage and entertain the audiences.

In order to fulfil the above, Nine Years Theatre will work towards the following goals:

To build a company of full-time actors that train regularly and create work in an ensemble environment through the NYT Ensemble Project.
(NYTEP)

To study, develop, share and champion the notion and practice of systematic actor training through NYT Developmental Platform.
(NYTDP)

To engage the audience in the discussion of art through various projects under the NYT Audience Sharing Platform.
(NYTASP)

To continuously develop new modes, methods and models in creation, training and audience engagement.

Nine Years Theatre Ltd. is supported by the National Arts Council under the Major Company Scheme for the period from 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2019, and a member of the Singapore Chinese Language Theatre Alliance.

关于 九年剧场


九年剧场是由谢燊杰和徐山淇联合创立的新加坡华语剧团。我们的作品范围包括了经典戏剧的重构及原创演出的制作。剧团的华语舞台演出一贯附上英文字幕,演出素质保有贯彻性并对翻译改编过程具有文化敏感度。因此,剧团的作品一直以来皆受到来自不同背景的观众的青睐。

我们坚持演员训练的重要性,剧团的作品因此常被认为在表演艺术上具有极高的扎实度。我们的核心演员组合长期进行定期的系统化训练;九年剧场更是新加坡唯一拥有这类演员组合的剧团。除了本身的训练,我们也致力通过课程及公开训练平台与艺术社群分享剧团的训练方法和理念。

为了与观众在演出以外进行更深层的接触,剧团一直努力开启不同模式的交流机会。对此,九年剧场的信念是:观众不该只是消费艺术,也应该有机会讨论艺术。
谢燊杰
艺术总监及联合创办人
作为导演,他至今导过二十五部主要作品,并以翻译和改编自古典与当代经典的华语舞台剧受到各界的瞩目。他曾连续三年受滨海艺术中心委约为旗下的“华艺节”呈献演出。其中,《十二怒汉》(九年剧场,2013)和《艺术》(九年剧场,2014)更让他连续两年荣获海峡时报“生活!戏剧大奖”的最佳导演奖。其他主要作品包括《奥里安娜》、《谁怕吴尔芙?》、《人民公敌》、《伪君子》、《底层》、《赤鬼》和《红色的天空》等等。

燊杰毕业自伦敦大学哥斯密斯学院(导演硕士)及新加坡国立大学(戏剧学学士)。他曾任南洋艺术学院戏剧系主任、拉萨尔艺术学院讲师和新加坡国立大学戏剧科讲师。他也担任过Toy肥料厂的副艺术总监(2003 - 2013)、实践剧场的驻团演员/导演(2000 – 2002)、电力站的附属艺术家(2007 - 2009),也是创作组合A GROUP OF PEOPLE的创办人之一(2008 - 2012)。

2012年,燊杰和他的妻子徐山淇创立了九年剧场。在短短的几年内,九年便成为本地剧坛的重要团体之一。在他的艺术带领下,九年成功地重燃华语剧场观众对经典剧目的热忱,也在演员群体中激起了对演员训练这项课题的关注。燊杰自2008年开始便定期进行「铃木演员训练法」和「观点」训练的练习。他曾在纽约的SITI剧团和日本的铃木忠志利贺剧团学习这些训练方法,并参与铃木剧团在利贺戏剧节的演出。之后,他更受铃木剧团的邀请,参与创立铃木国际剧团的工作。然而,他为了致力九年剧场的发展和开拓演员训练的研究,毅然放弃了这个机会。

2013年,他创立了「九年剧场演员组合」,旨在组建一支进行长期、定期并且系统化的训练和创作的演员团队。至今,九年剧场的演员组合是本地唯一持有上述特质的团队。
徐山淇
剧团总监


山淇是一名演员、监制和剧场导师。她是九年剧场的剧团总监及联合创办人,也是「九年剧场演员组合」的创建及核心组员。

她自9岁加入丽的呼声少年儿童话剧组之后,开始学习表演。在念书时期不断参与表演工作的她,后来毕业自新加坡国立大学,主修戏剧学及汉语。除此之外,她也是「戏剧训练与研究课程」(现今
称为跨文化戏剧学院)的第二届学生,并在学习了将近两年之后,晋升为一对双胞女儿的妈妈。她也曾接受SITI剧团(纽约)的训练及铃木忠志剧团(日本)的训练。

身为演员,山淇曾与本地多个剧团合作,包括TOY肥料厂、戏剧盒、实践剧场、猴纸剧坊、必要剧场以及剧艺工作坊。近期表演作品包括《红色的天空》(2016)、《赤鬼》(2016)、《底层》(2015)、《伪君子》(2015)、《人民公敌》(2014)、《她门》(2013)及《谁怕吴尔芙?》(澳门艺术节2013)。

身为导师,除了曾在诸多小学、中学、高中学府教课以外,她也曾在新加坡国立大学戏剧系授课。她是九年剧场标准语音课的老师,也负责带领「九年剧场演员组合计划」的发音、语音和语言训练。

作为监制,她的作品有《本质上快乐》(2017)、《红色的天空》(2016)、《赤鬼》(2016)、《底层》(2015)、《伪君子》(2015)、《艺术》( 滨海艺术中心华艺节2014委约)、《人民公敌》( M1艺穗节2014委约)、《谁怕吴尔芙?》( 澳门艺术节2013)及《十二怒汉》( 滨海艺术中心华艺节2013委约)。

她也曾在1997至2013年期间在顶尖流行音乐电台Y.E.S.93.3FM担任兼职DJ。





© 九年剧场

燊杰是一名演员、导演和戏剧导师。

二十多年来,他活跃于新加坡舞台,担任过无数英语和华语舞台剧的主角或要角。他曾凭一百分钟的独角戏《白言》(Toy肥料厂,2010)和《男男自语》(新加坡艺术节,2012)两度荣获海峡时报“生活!戏剧大奖”最佳男主角奖。


九年剧场(有限公司)是一个非牟利注册之公益慈善文化团体。

注册号码:201221584C
注册日期:2012年8月31日

剧团董事

  • 谢财佳
  • 徐山淇
  • 谢燊杰
  • 黄家强
  • 陈钰鑫
  • 黄渭莹

愿景

成为一个不断重释剧场创作方式与观剧体验过程,并通过这方面的努力和观众及艺术社群建立联系的重要剧团。


宗旨

创作能够启发心灵,引发思考,且赏心怡情的高素质舞台作品。为此,九年剧场将迈向以下目标:

通过“九年剧场演员组合计划”建立一支进行定期训练和集体创作的全职演员团队。

通过“九年剧场开展平台”分享和推广有系统性的演员训练,并对其概念及实践进行研究和发展。

通过“九年剧场观众分享平台”鼓励和激发观众对艺术进行讨论。

不断地在艺术创作、演员训练和观众接触方面寻找及发展新的格局、方法与模式。

九年剧场国家艺术理事会主要拨款赞助(2016年4月1日至2019年3月31日,并是新华剧体的成员。