About Nine Years Theatre Ensemble Project


Led by artistic director Nelson Chia, NYT Ensemble Project is an attempt to build a company of ensemble actors who train regularly, in a systematic way, and create together over an extended period of time. Its main activities are divided into: regular training, creation and performance. For regular training, the ensemble uses the Suzuki Method of Actor Training (SMAT) and Viewpoints as its core systems to develop the art of the actor. Other trainings include Voice, Speech and Dramaturgy, etc.. The creation process draws on the synergy that emerges from these trainings over time. The ultimate aim of the project is to develop a sustainable group of company actors that accumulates its strengths through the ensemble environment to create works that are consistent, grounded and integral.


The Idea of a Company Ensemble

The idea of a company ensemble is not new to many mature theatre cultures around the world. We see examples of this model in companies such as Bertolt Brecht's Berliner Ensemble, Eugenio Barba's Odin Teatret, Peter Brook's Theatre Bouffes Du Nord and Ariane Mnouchkine's Theatre du Soleil, Theater Mandiri led by Indonesian director Putu Wijaya, Suzuki Company of Toga by Tadashi Suzuki, and SITI Company by Anne Bogart, to name a few. Furthermore, the essence of the ensemble model is cross-disciplinary as we see how major dance companies largely rely on a core group of dancers who train together over extended period of time in order to produce quality works.

NYT believes that there are unique qualities in an ensemble model and that these qualities, which are at this moment under-explored in our local theatre scene, are in fact the factors that will propel us towards higher standards in our work. These are the reasons for the initiation of the NYT Ensemble Project.

On Training and Creation

Q: Why do we train?

A: We train for many reasons. But generally it is to
  1. become a more capable, and hence a more creative actor.
  2. constantly return to a “zero” state, so that we may see, experience and feel with refreshed perspectives.


Q: Why do we train together?

A: It is to build a common language and synergy that allow us to create works that are consistent, grounded and integral.


Q: What are the characteristics of NYTEP productions?

A: They are
  • Consistent in the world presented, the delivery of this world, and in overall standard.
  • Grounded in the actors' craft and art, and in the accumulated experiences of the ensemble.
  • Integral because we exercise sensibility in all aspects of the production.
Hang Qian Chou
Founding & Core Member

Qian Chou first worked with Nine Years Theatre on Twelve Angry Men and subsequently became a founding and core member of the NYT Ensemble, taking on Kuo Pao Kun's monologue No Parking on Odd Days in Cantonese; playing Big Beard in Art Studio; Mr Lee's son in Red Sky; the titular role in Red Demon and Tartuffe; the Pot-mender in The Lower Depths; and Peter Stockmann in An Enemy of the People.

He graduated from NUS Theatre Studies and the pioneer cohort of W!LD Rice's actors' training programme young & W!LD. He also attended summer workshops at Ecole Philippe Gaulier (Paris, France) and David Diamond's Theatre for Living (Vancouver, Canada).

He has won Best Ensemble four times at the Life! Theatre Awards, for Red Sky,Twelve Angry Men, Lao Jiu: The Musical and Mad Forest; and was similarly nominated for Own Time Own Target and The Hypochondriac.
Mia Chee
Founding & Core Member

Mia is an actor, producer and theatre educator, also co-founder and Company Director of Nine Year Theatre. She started performing at 9 years old when she joined Rediffusion Singapore's children group and eventually graduated with a BA in Theatre Studies and Chinese Language from the National University of Singapore. In addition to that, she studied Viewpoints with SITI Company (New York) and Suzuki Method of Actor Training with SITI and Suzuki Company of Toga (Japan). Recent works include Art Studio (2017), Red Sky (2016), Red Demon (2016), The Lower Depths (2015), Tartuffe (2015), An Enemy of the People (2014), The Bride Always Knocks Twice (2013) and Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (Macau Arts Festival 2013).
Jean Toh
Founding & Core Member

Jean Toh has worked as an actor and dancer in professional theatre, dance, installation and film productions since 2004.

She holds a BA(Hons) in Acting from LASALLE College of the Arts and is a founding and core member of the NYT Ensemble.

She has played in The Lower Depths, Tartuffe, An Enemy of the People (Nine Years Theatre), Singapore: Inside Out (Singapore Tourism Board), Stand Behind the Yellow Line (Singapore Repertory Theatre), The Crucible (Toy Factory Productions), Decimal Points 7.7, Decimal Points 810 (Cake Theatrical Productions), The Shape of a Bird (Saga Seed Theatre).

Jean was the selected Asian artist by Institute Français to attend the 67th Avignon Theatre Festival and was nominated Best Supporting Actress for her role in HBO Asia's Grace at the 2015 Asian TV Awards. 





© Nine Years Theatre
From Left to Right: Hang Qian Chou, Mia Chee, Neo Hai Bin, Jean Toh, Timothy Wan
Neo Hai Bin
Founding & Core Member

Why theatre? Over the years, he experienced the theatre’s power to question, transform, and develop social awareness.

Neo Hai Bin started off as a member of "ARTivate", the youth wing of Drama Box. Now a freelance theatre practitioner, he has worked with Drama Box, The Theatre Practice Lab, The Finger Players, The Necessary Stage, Nine Years Theatre.

His performances include Bondage, Shh.. (Forum Theatre), Mulan (children’s theatre), Dua Dai Ji (Mockumentary Theatre), Life Choices (Monologue), Manifesto, Art Studio...

He is part of "微Wei Collective". He keeps a blog at: http://thethoughtspavilion.wordpress.com.
Timothy Wan
Core Member

Timothy is an actor, singer, and musician. He graduated with a BA(Hons) in 2013, from the Theatre Studies department in the National University of Singapore. Since then, he has been actively involved in both the local English and Mandarin theatre scene.

Stage credits include: Army Daze, Glass Anatomy, High Class, Red Riding Hood, Firecrackers & Bombshells, Romeo & Juliet: The Musical, Hansel & Gretel, The Nightingale (in both English & Mandarin), Junior Claus, Titoudao, The Tempest, December Rains, White Soliloquy, Beauty World, Red Demon, Kumarajiva, Red Sky, Fundamentally Happy, Girl in the White Sandbox, Art Studio.

关于「九年剧场演员组合计划」


由艺术总监谢燊杰带领,「九年剧场演员组合计划」旨在组建一支进行长期、定期并且系统化的训练和创作的演员团队。其主要活动包括:定期训练、创作和演出。训练主要以 “铃木演员训练法” 和 “观点” 训练为核心系统,其他内容包括了声音、语言和文本研习等等。这些训练所衍生的集体能量则是演员们创作过程的根基。计划的目标在于建立和维持剧团本身的核心演员,并通过经验的积累和团队的环境来创造出有贯彻性、扎实度和整体性的作品。


剧团演员组合的概念

剧团演员组合的概念一直以来都存在于许多成熟的戏剧文化环境中。国际上,布莱希特的柏林剧团、尤金尼奥·巴尔巴的奥丁剧团、彼得·布鲁克的北方布夫剧团、莫虚金的太阳剧团、印尼导演维佳亚的火焰剧团、铃木忠志的利贺铃木剧团、美国导演安·柏卡的SITI剧团,等等皆以演员组合的模式进行创作。这个模式也常见于主要舞团中,舞团的舞者一般都是在在长期共同训练的前提下进行创作。

九年剧场相信演员组合的模式拥有其独特的素质,而这些素质在本地戏剧环境里仍是个未被开发的领域。我们因此希望通过这些素质的培养提升我们的作品水准。这就是九年剧场要成立「演员组合计划」的原因。


关于训练与创作

问:为什么要进行训练?

答:其中原因很多,但主要是因为
  1. 训练能增强演员的能力,使之更有创意。
  2. 训练让我们时常将自己回归到“零”的状态,以清新的视角来观察、体验和感受事物。


问:为什么进行共同训练?

答:这是为了培养共同的语汇及能量,好让我们的创作拥有贯彻性、扎实度和整体性。



问:「九年剧场演员组合计划」的作品追求哪些特质?

答:我们希望作品拥有

  • 贯彻性 - 在舞台世界的呈现和整体制作水准上有贯彻性。
  • 扎实度 - 作品扎根于演员的技能与艺术,以及演员组合的经验积累。
  • 整体性 - 以敏感的触觉面对每个创作环节,使作品呈现整体性。
韩乾畴
创建及核心组员

乾畴续《十二怒汉》之后,加入了九年剧场演员组合,成为创建及核心成员之一,并演出粤语版《单日不可停车》、《红色的天空》、《赤鬼》、《底层》、《伪君子》与《人民公敌》。

他毕业于国大戏剧系,之后予野米剧场“young & W!LD”接受演员训练。他也曾远赴加拿大温哥华和法国巴黎,在论坛剧场翘楚David Diamond以及小丑大师Philippe Gaulier的学院进修夏季课程。

他曾六度提名、四度荣获《海峡时报生活戏剧奖 - 最佳群体演出》,也曾参演:《老九》音乐剧、《天门决》、《棺材太大洞太小》、《天冷就回来》、《编剧操练营》、《聊斋》(实践剧场);《40下》、《冲啊!》、《有谁在乎我?》(戏剧盒);《搭错车》、《雨季》(Toy肥料厂);以及《周处除三害》(猴纸剧坊)。
徐山淇
创建及核心组员

徐山淇是一名演员、监制、剧场导师,也是九年剧场的剧团总监和联合创办人。

她自9岁加入新加坡丽的呼声少儿组后开始其表演事业,后来毕业自新加坡国立大学戏剧科,主修戏剧学及汉语,并与本地多个剧团合作。除此之外,她也在「戏剧训练与研究课程」学习将近两年,并曾接受SITI剧团(纽约)及铃木忠志剧团(日本)的训练。近期作品包括《红色的天空》(2016)、《赤鬼》(2016)、《底层》(2015)、《伪君子》(2015)、《人民公敌》(2014)、《她门》(2013)及《谁怕吴尔芙?》(澳门艺术节2013)。
卓婷奕
创建及核心组员

婷奕是一名演员与舞蹈者。她自2004年开始参与戏剧、舞蹈、装置艺术、电台、电视等制作。

毕业于LASALLE艺术学院(戏剧系荣誉学士),她加入了九年剧场演员组合,是创建及核心成员之一。

参与的演出包括《底层》、《伪君子》、《人民公敌》(九年剧场),《创:新》(新加坡旅游局),《站在黄线后面》(新加坡专业剧场),《萨勒姆的女巫》(Toy 肥料厂), 《小数点7.7》、《小数点810》(Cake 戏剧制作),《鸟》(Saga Seed 剧团)。

婷奕获新加坡法语学院遴选出席2013年法国阿维尼翁戏剧节。她在HBO Asia电视剧集Grace《诡恋》饰演的角色荣获2015年亚洲电视大奖提名最佳配角。





© 九年剧场
由左至右: 陈宇泱 韩乾畴徐山淇郑光辉 温伟文 梁海彬
(缺席:卓婷奕)
梁海彬
创建及核心组员

为什么做剧场?

剧场教他质问自己、关心本土、思考议题;教他不停止独立思考;让他对自己的身体更敏感。梁海彬于戏剧盒的青年支部艺树人接触剧场,和本地剧团—— 戏剧盒、实践剧场、九年剧场、十指帮、必要剧场—— 合作。参与的演出包括《上身不由己》、《告别:身体16章》(澳门艺术节2013)、《安乐》、《底层》…

Why theatre?某天,有人给他当头棒喝:并非剧场需要我,而是我需要剧场。

他的文字创作收入在:http://thethoughtspavilion.wordpress.com。
郑光辉
核心组员

光辉毕业于伦敦圣马丁艺术学院艺术硕士,并在香港浸会大学传媒学院获得学士学位,主修电视电影。表演艺术师承新加坡戏剧前辈已故程茂德先生。职业生涯涵盖记者、电台、电视、电影和剧场。光辉参与的演出多次荣获戏剧奖项与提名,并在国家艺术理事会资助下在2014年远赴纽约进修戏剧课程。
温伟文
核心成员

伟文是一名演员,歌手,以及音乐家。他毕业于新加坡国立大学戏剧系,目前他是一名自由性质的戏剧从业者。毕业了以后,伟文已参与了许多英语和华语剧场的制作。

他曾参演: Army Daze《搭错车》 High Class Red Riding Hood Firecrackers & Bombshells Romeo & Juliet: The Musical, Hansel & Gretel《夜莺》 (中英文版本) Junior Claus 《剃头刀》 The Tempest 《雨季》《白言》 Beauty World《赤鬼》《鸠摩罗什》《红色的天空》《本质上快乐》。
陈宇泱
核心成员

陈宇泱毕业于新加坡国立大学戏剧研究系。她深信演员进修和锻炼的重要性,至今参与过ECNAD、Cake Theatrical Productions,、十指帮、Assitej JAPAN以及九年剧场的训练平台。

近期的表演作品包括:《红色的天空》(九年剧场)、 Café (The 20-something Theatre Festival)、《宣言》(必要剧场与戏剧盒)、 《风回来了》 (戏剧盒与 ArtsWok) 以及《偏》(十指帮) 。 编剧作品有《承传》(十指帮)以及 Rochee The Friendliest Cockroach(滨海艺术中心小玩艺!)
 
她目前是十指帮的附属演员,也是“九年剧场演员组合”的核心成员。