The Invisible Body and the Suzuki Method of Actor Training

(Originally written for Drama Box's ezine Jun 2013)

Written by Nelson Chia


The Suzuki Method of Actor Training was developed by Tadashi Suzuki together with his company The Suzuki Company of Toga (SCOT) around the 1970s, when he decided to move his theatre company from Tokyo to the mountain village of Toga in Toyama, Japan. It is a training system that uses a series of physical exercises (known as “disciplines”) to cultivate certain very important aspects of the actors' body. In this short article, I shall attempt to articulate the method's focus on the actor's body, and its development of the “invisible body”.


Culture is the Body

In his seminal article, “Culture Is The Body”, Tadashi Suzuki differentiated two types of energy -- animal energy produced by humans and animals and non-animal energy such as electricity, petroleum and nuclear power. He asserted that a society sustained by animal energy is quite different in characteristics to one sustained by non-animal energy. The latter, which is modern and industrialized, is often thought of as the more civilized one. However, in the opinion of Suzuki, "a civilized society is not necessarily a cultured one... a cultured society is one in which the perceptive and expressive abilities of its people are cultivated through the use of their innate animal energy. Such animal energy fosters the sense of security and trust needed for healthy communication in human relationships and the communities they form” (para 1).

In other words, culture, according to Suzuki, resides in the body that produces animal energy rather than man-made entities that are used to build civilization. When we apply this differentiation to the theatre, we realized that most contemporary theatre are modernized and rely heavily on non-animal energy in almost every aspect of its production. In comparison, traditional performances such as Noh theatre, while also modernized at certain levels, maintain a higher reliance on animal energy in most aspects of its production.
For Suzuki, the shift towards non-animal energy is in fact detrimental to the art of theatre. He explained that when automobile replaced walking, when computer replaced the need for direct seeing and hearing, and "when modernization has severed our natural organs from our essential selves, entrusting an increasingly larger portion of their workload to non-animal energy," the consequence is a dramatic downsizing of the potential of the human body and its various functions, and the weakening of the communication between people that is based on animal energy. This trend, he regretted, "has also taken its toll on the expressive skills of the actor" (para 6).

In an effort to address this situation, Suzuki has strived "to restore the wholeness of the human body in performance, not simply by creating variants of such forms as the Noh and kabuki, but by employing the universal virtues of these and other pre-modern traditions." He believes that by "harnessing and developing these enduring virtues," we could create an opportunity to "re-consolidate our currently dismembered physical faculties and revive the body's perceptive and expressive capacity." It is only by having a commitment to do so that we may "ensure the flourishing of culture within civilization" (para 6). The above points, in a way, sum up Suzuki's views on the loss of animal energy, the dismembering of our human faculties from the body, the destructive effect of such conditions on the actors' art, and the value of certain virtues of pre-modern theatre in recovering this loss. More importantly, they provide us with an understanding of Suzuki's emphasis on the actor's body in his method of actor training.


The Invisible Body

In articulating his theory of acting, Suzuki outlined three important factors in his article “A Fundamental Technique and Theory of Acting” that constitute the actor's art. They are, firstly, to have a point of view, secondly, to have an audience or a sense of the “other” and lastly, to have an awareness of the “invisible body”. The actor's point of view refers to the fundamental essence of acting in which actors convey the desire to make people re-evaluate what they see. The “other” refers to the audience or from the actor's perspective, the sense of an observer. The “invisible body” refers to the primary physical functions that his method of actor training attempts to develop.

As mentioned, the Suzuki Method of Actor Training is carried out using a series of physical exercises (known as disciplines). Its objective is to develop three crucial aspects of the actors' body. They are, 1) energy production, 2) breath calibration, and 3) centre of gravity control. These three aspects are also the fundamental, key physical functions of any human beings because “as soon as we have problems with any one of them, it becomes difficult to maintain our health and participate in modern society.” According to Suzuki, this is due in part to the fact that these particular functions exist in an inter-dependent relationship -“the more energy the body produces, the more oxygen it needs, which in turn intensifies the breathing. When the breathing intensifies, it challenges the body's balance, or centre of gravity control” (III, para 1).

However, in spite of their importance, these functions do not generally receive a lot of attention. Hence, they are collectively referred to by Suzuki as “the invisible body”. It follows, therefore, that the main objective of his training system is to firstly, “grow our capacity in each of these functions independently”, and more importantly, to “deepen and fortify their interrelation.” If we are able to expand our capacity in producing energy, in taking in oxygen and maintaining our centre of gravity, more variety of movement will be available to us. This, in turn, increases the stability and sustainability of our lives (III, para 1).
When applied to the stage and to actor training, Suzuki explained that
[t]hrough disciplined, integrated development of these three parameters, the body gains strength and agility, the voice acquires range and capacity and an awareness of the “other” grows. Such work develops the expressive potency needed to transmit the actor's point of view. It follows, then, that the core requirements for the art of acting lie in disciplines created to deepen an awareness of these three crucial, interrelated, “invisible” phenomena (III, para 1).
In other words, the Suzuki Method of Actor Training is created to target the cultivation of physical attributes that are crucial but often neglected by actors on stage. Following this thought, I usually find it useful to then regard the embodied skills - pure movements and steps in traditional theatre, characterization work and delivery of lines in modern drama, etc. -- that we may acquire in order to perform a in a particular style or genre as elements of the “visible body”. While this skill-based body is unique to the kinds of performances that the actor does, the “invisible body” however, is one that is universally necessary for all actors if they were to transcend beyond the regurgitation of skills. In short, a truly powerful actor is one that possesses substantial capability in both the “visible” as well as the “invisible” body. It is the fluid control of energy, breath and centre of gravity (and hence stability, gravitas, and presence in performance) that allow the actor to gain range and become truly creative on stage. For that reason, it is asserted by many who practice the Suzuki Method of Actor Training that although its methodology is often misunderstood by many as merely rigorous physical work, it is in fact a training system that addresses the art of acting in an undoubtedly direct way.



Works Cited:

Suzuki, Tadashi. “Culture is the Body.” and “A Fundamental Technique and Theory of Acting.” Suzuki's Philosophy of Theatre. Tadashi Suzuki. Suzuki Company of Toga. Web. 2009.
< http://www.scot-suzukicompany.com/en/philosophy.php >




-------------------


Go back.





© Nine Years Theatre

隐形的身体和铃木演员训练法

(原为戏剧盒2013年6月份电子杂志而写)

文/谢燊杰



1970年代,日本导演铃木忠志把他的剧团由东京迁至富山县山区的利贺村,并在当时发展了“铃木演员训练法”。这套训练方法旨在通过一系列的形体练习来培养演员身体的某些重要元素。我将在这篇短文里描述“铃木演员训练法”重视演员身体的原因,以及这套训练法致力培养的“隐形身体”所指的是什么。


文化就是身体

在《文化就是身体》这篇文章中,铃木忠志将能量区分为“动物性”和“非动物性”两种。前者源自人类与动物,后者则包括了电力、燃油能源、核能源等等。他指出分别以这两种不同能量为主要能源的社会,在个性上也有所不同。以“非动物性能源”为主的社会,一般上趋向现代化与工业化,也因此常被视为是个较文明的社会。但铃木忠志认为“一个文明的社会并不代表它自然是个有文化的社会。。。一个有文化的社会,其人民的感知与表达能力是通过运用与生俱来的“动物性能量”而培养起来的。此能量有助于建立个人和群体交流上的信任感和安全感”(段1)。

换句话说,铃木忠志认为文化并不存在于用以建立文明的人造事物,而是存在于展现"动物性能量”的身体里。以这个角度看剧场,我们不难发现当代剧场多数是几乎全面依靠"非动物能量”的现代剧场。相比下,传统剧场如日本能剧虽然也被现代化,但却仍然在很大的程度上依赖"动物性能量”。其实,采用"非动物性能量”的趋势对剧场艺术是有害的。按铃木忠志的解释,当汽车代替了步行,当电脑科技取代了直接观看和聆听的需要,"当现代化的过程将我们的身体器官与自身分割开来,并大量以"非动物性能量”来进行这些器官的工作时",其结果不只是人类身体功能和潜能的大幅度退化,也削弱了人们在"动物性能量”运用层面上的交流。而令铃木忠志感慨的是,这种趋势更"腐蚀了演员的表达能力"(段6)。

为此,铃木忠志致力在舞台上找回“完整的身体”。其做法“不是简单地套用改造后的能剧或歌舞伎的形体风格,而是深入应用这些以及其他传统剧场里的共通理念与特性。” 他相信 “通过汇集和发展这些理念和特性,我们将能够唤回被割舍了的身体功能,并重振身体的感知与表达能力。"唯有通过这方面的努力,才能使"文化在文明中绽放"(段6)。以上的观点,基本上代表了铃木忠志对于以下四项要点的立场:"动物性能量”的丧失、人体功能的被割舍、这种情况对于演员艺术的危害、及应用传统剧场的某些理念和特性来改正现状的可能性。更重要的是,这也让我们了解了"铃木演员训练法"重视身体训练的缘由。


隐形的身体

在《基本表演技能与理论》一文中,铃木忠志阐述了演员艺术中的三个要素。首先,演员的表演必须持有“立场”。第二,演员必须对“观众”持有意识。第三,演员必须关注“隐形的身体”。所谓“立场”,即是演员要让观众重新审视自己所见的一种意愿。“观众”的概念也包含了演员对这个观察者的意识。“隐形的身体”则意指铃木忠志希望通过他的训练系统培养的演员基本身体功能。

        如前所述,“铃木演员训练法”旨在通过一系列的形体运动来培养演员身体的某些重要元素。它们是1)能量应用,2)气息调节,及3)重心控制。这三个元素也是人类的主要基本身体功能,“一旦任何一项功能出现问题,我们就难以维持健康并正常地参与日常活动。” 这也是因为这三项身体功能之间的关系是相辅相成的。铃木忠志解释,“身体要制造更多能量,就得吸取更多氧气,这也意味着呼吸的频率与幅度将增加。呼吸量增加,则会影响身体的平衡,也就会对身体重心的控制造成挑战” (III, 段1)。

然而,虽然这三个身体功能极为重要,但是它们并不常受到关注。因此,铃木忠志将之集体称为“隐形的身体”。如此一来,他的演员训练法则首先旨在“分别培养这三项功能”,尔后更“加强及深化它们之间的相辅关系。” 如果我们能加强制造能量的功能,提升呼吸调节的功能,并保持重心的稳定性,我们也就能够完成更多元复杂的形体需求。这也间接地增强了我们生命的稳定性与持久性 (III,段1)。

把这个概念应用在舞台和演员训练方面,铃木忠志认为
通过有纪律的综合培训,这三个元素将使我们的身体更有力量,更灵活,声音的表现力与音域也会被扩大,对“观众”的意识感也会增强。这些都有助于提升演员在表演中传达其“观点”的能力。如是,表演艺术的核心需求就是通过创造训练方法来深化这三项分别重要,又相辅相成的“隐形”元素 (III,段1)。

换句话说,“铃木演员训练法”是针对培养演员身体里既重要但又常被忽略的功能而设计的。为此,我常把演员为了完成某种风格或类别的演出而学习的技能,如传统剧场的纯形体动作、现代剧场的人物创造、台词演绎等等,归为“现形身体”的培养。“现形身体”以表演风格、种类为本,展现的是表现上的独特性。而“隐形身体”对演员来说则含有普世的必要性,是超越技能重复性表演的关键。也就是说,一个优秀的演员,必须同时拥有相当能力的“现形身体”和“隐形身体”。唯有能够随心驾驭能量、气息、和重心的演员,才能展现稳定、扎实和有感染力的表演,随而变的更有表现力与创造力。因此,虽然“铃木演员训练法”常被误解为只是一项严格的纯形体运动练习,但对许多以此系统为长期性训练的演员而言,它却无疑是一项直接针对演员艺术而创造的训练法。


引用文献:

铃木,忠智。《文化就是身体》和《基本表演技能与理论》。笔者翻译。取自网页文献 “Culture is the Body.” and “A Fundamental Technique and Theory of Acting.” Suzuki’s Philosophy of Theatre. Tadashi Suzuki. Suzuki Company of Toga. Web. 2009.
< http://www.scot-suzukicompany.com/en/philosophy.php >


---------------


返回





© 九年剧场